Precious Minds, New Connections

capture3

A Poem By Elizabeth Guajardo Walsh Inspired by the author’s experience in BCFS Health and Human Services’ parenting education program,

Precious Minds, New Connections Un poema por Elizabeth Guajardo Walsh Inspirado por su experiencia en el programa de educación para padres Precious Minds, New Connections de BCFS Health and Human Services

From stressed-out and controlling,

To flexible and understanding,

Today I praise independence

By practicing empathy and patience.

 

It sounds fun and easy,

But parenting takes a toll.

Now memories of my childhood

Empower my new role.

 

I’ve learned that communication

Provides the connections

Between high expectations,

And our own situation.

 

A new way to play by the rules,

This course just gave me the tools.

My children are one of a kind,

In my hands lays each precious mind.

Del “¡Ten cuidado!” a un “Te amo…”,

De “¡Más te vale!” al “¡Así se hace!”,

De la impaciencia a la convivencia,

De gritar y controlar a interactuar y acariciar

 

Suena fácil—no lo es.

Pero HOY veo las conexiones

Entre mi estilo de crianza Y los recuerdos de mi niñez.

 

Todo es tan lógico,

Debí de haber sabido.

Con el perfecto ejemplo de mis padres

Debí de haber tenido.

Sin embargo, cada situación es diferente.

Y gracias a este curso, ahora tengo presente

Ser cada día más flexible y tolerante,

¡Porque la mente de mis hijos es brillante!

Leave a Reply

